• Email Updates

    Support the Back to Work Budget!

    Add your E-mail Address to Join the Team.

     
Print

Progressive Caucus Leaders Demand Administration's Full Response on Drones

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 11, 2013

Washington, D.C.— Today Rep. Barbara Lee, the Chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus Peace and Security Task Force, with CPC Co-Chairs Reps. Raúl M. Grijalva and Keith Ellison and Caucus members John Conyers, Donna Edwards, Mike Honda, Rush Holt, and Jim McGovern, sent a letter requesting the full, unclassified release of information surrounding the Obama administration’s drone policy. Rep. Conyers is the Ranking Member of the House Judiciary Committee.

The letter requests a formal report to Congress explaining the scope and legal justification for the drone program. “Authorizing the killing of American citizens and others has profound implications for our Constitution, the core values of our nation, our national security and future international practice,” the authors write. “The executive branch’s claim of authority to deprive citizens of life, and to do so without explaining the legal bases for doing so, sets a dangerous precedent and is a model of behavior that the United States would not want other nations to emulate.”

The letter cites several problems with current drone policy, including its “unbounded geographic scope; unidentified high-level officials with authority to approve kill-lists; a vaguely defined definition of whether a capture is ‘feasible,’ [and] an overly broad definition of the phrase ‘imminent threat,’ which re-defines the word in a way that strays significantly from its traditional and legal meaning.”

Full text of the letter can be found here.  

###

 

 Kevin.harris2@mail.house.gov;paul@mail.house.gov  
james.gleeson@mail.house.gov
patrick.malone@mail.house.gov
leah.nelson@mail.house.gov; Mike.Morosi@mail.house.gov
david.simon@mail.house.gov
alison.mills@mail.house.gov
Blake.Johnson@mail.house.gov
Michael.Szustak@mail.house.gov; Mae.Stevens@mail.house.gov
monique.clendinen@mail.house.gov
Dan.Lindner@mail.house.gov
richard.luchette@mail.house.gov
Kristia.beaubrun@mail.house.gov
Michele.Rooney@mail.house.gov
michael.pagan@mail.house.gov
Schreiber, Andrew <Andrew.Schreiber@mail.house.gov>
Safiya.Simmons@mail.house.gov
ira.cohen@mail.house.gov
jen.gilbreath@mail.house.gov
sara.lonardo@mail.house.gov
dan.weber@mail.house.gov
Jeremy.Slevin@mail.house.gov
adam.russell@mail.house.gov
debra.anderson@mail.house.gov
sarah.rothschild@mail.house.gov
Lemia.jenkins@mail.house.gov
lauren.doney@mail.house.gov
Adam.Sarvana@mail.house.gov
douglas.rivlin@mail.house.gov
Laurie.saroff@mail.house.gov; elizabeth.odendahl@mail.house.gov
thomas.seay@mail.house.gov
Michael.Shank@mail.house.gov
nora.matus@mail.house.gov
mike.mcquerry@mail.house.gov
cedric.grant@mail.house.gov
Lauren.Wilson@mail.house.gov; Cameron.Trimble@mail.house.gov        
andy.phelan@mail.house.gov
 
emily.browne@mail.house.gov
rob.friedlander@mail.house.gov
Carrie.Adams2@mail.house.gov
Brenda.Jones@mail.house.gov
joe.hand@mail.house.gov
Keith.Higginbotham@mail.house.gov
andrew.stoddard@mail.house.gov
jon.houston@mail.house.gov
giselle.barry@mail.house.gov
amber.macdonald@mail.house.gov
michael.mershon@mail.house.gov; keith.stern@mail.house.gov
amy.peake@mail.house.gov; peter.whippy@mail.house.gov
Nicole.Williams@mail.house.gov
anne.hughes@mail.house.gov
ilan.kayatsky@mail.house.gov
steve.johnson8@mail.house.gov
scott.mccrary@mail.house.gov
Raymond.Zaccaro@mail.house.gov
maura.cordova@mail.house.gov
Willy.Ritch@mail.house.gov
Samuel.Lau@mail.house.gov
chris.fitzgerald@mail.house.gov
hannah.kim@mail.house.gov
elizabeth.murphy@mail.house.gov
michael_briggs@sanders.senate.gov
Sabrina.singh@mail.house.gov
Frederick.Velez@mail.house.gov
Eric.Walker@mail.house.gov
"brett.morrow@mail.house.gov
"
lavant@mail.house.gov
kathryn.prael@mail.house.gov
alex.haurek@mail.house.gov
Latoya.Veal@mail.house.gov
dominique.tillman@mail.house.gov
scott.coriell@mail.house.gov
mike.casca@mail.house.gov
Haley.Stewart@mail.house.gov
kelsey.mishkin@mail.house.gov Kevin.harris2@mail.house.gov;paul@mail.house.gov  
james.gleeson@mail.house.gov
patrick.malone@mail.house.gov
leah.nelson@mail.house.gov; Mike.Morosi@mail.house.gov
david.simon@mail.house.gov
alison.mills@mail.house.gov
Blake.Johnson@mail.house.gov
Michael.Szustak@mail.house.gov; Mae.Stevens@mail.house.gov
monique.clendinen@mail.house.gov
Dan.Lindner@mail.house.gov
richard.luchette@mail.house.gov
Kristia.beaubrun@mail.house.gov
Michele.Rooney@mail.house.gov
michael.pagan@mail.house.gov
Schreiber, Andrew <Andrew.Schreiber@mail.house.gov>
Safiya.Simmons@mail.house.gov
ira.cohen@mail.house.gov
jen.gilbreath@mail.house.gov
sara.lonardo@mail.house.gov
dan.weber@mail.house.gov
Jeremy.Slevin@mail.house.gov
adam.russell@mail.house.gov
debra.anderson@mail.house.gov
sarah.rothschild@mail.house.gov
Lemia.jenkins@mail.house.gov
lauren.doney@mail.house.gov
Adam.Sarvana@mail.house.gov
douglas.rivlin@mail.house.gov
Laurie.saroff@mail.house.gov; elizabeth.odendahl@mail.house.gov
thomas.seay@mail.house.gov
Michael.Shank@mail.house.gov
nora.matus@mail.house.gov
mike.mcquerry@mail.house.gov
cedric.grant@mail.house.gov
Lauren.Wilson@mail.house.gov; Cameron.Trimble@mail.house.gov        
andy.phelan@mail.house.gov
 
emily.browne@mail.house.gov
rob.friedlander@mail.house.gov
Carrie.Adams2@mail.house.gov
Brenda.Jones@mail.house.gov
joe.hand@mail.house.gov
Keith.Higginbotham@mail.house.gov
andrew.stoddard@mail.house.gov
jon.houston@mail.house.gov
giselle.barry@mail.house.gov
amber.macdonald@mail.house.gov
michael.mershon@mail.house.gov; keith.stern@mail.house.gov
amy.peake@mail.house.gov; peter.whippy@mail.house.gov
Nicole.Williams@mail.house.gov
anne.hughes@mail.house.gov
ilan.kayatsky@mail.house.gov
steve.johnson8@mail.house.gov
scott.mccrary@mail.house.gov
Raymond.Zaccaro@mail.house.gov
maura.cordova@mail.house.gov
Willy.Ritch@mail.house.gov
Samuel.Lau@mail.house.gov
chris.fitzgerald@mail.house.gov
hannah.kim@mail.house.gov
elizabeth.murphy@mail.house.gov
michael_briggs@sanders.senate.gov
Sabrina.singh@mail.house.gov
Frederick.Velez@mail.house.gov
Eric.Walker@mail.house.gov
"brett.morrow@mail.house.gov
"
lavant@mail.house.gov
kathryn.prael@mail.house.gov
alex.haurek@mail.house.gov
Latoya.Veal@mail.house.gov
dominique.tillman@mail.house.gov
scott.coriell@mail.house.gov
mike.casca@mail.house.gov
Haley.Stewart@mail.house.gov
kelsey.mishkin@mail.house.gov